Skip to Content
Texas State University

Texas State faculty accepted into the Texas Academic Leadership Academy

Yvonne Rhodes | June 25, 2019

SAN MARCOS – The Texas Academic Leadership Academy (TALA) has accepted three Texas State University faculty members to the 2019-2020 cohort: Dr. Alexander White, professor in the Department of Mathematics; Dr. Michelle Hamilton, professor in the Department of Health and Human Performance; and Dr. Joey Martin, professor in the School of Music.

TALA is a program sponsored by the Texas Council of Chief Academic Officers, which aims to elevate professional development opportunities for faculty and aspiring leaders in academic affairs. TALA, now in its second year, enhances the leadership skills of those aspiring to department and college level leadership positions. Faculty and leaders at all Texas institutions of higher education were eligible to participate, following nomination from the chief academic officer at their institution.  

“Texas State is pleased to support the professional development of all faculty, including three outstanding faculty members engaged in the second class of TALA,” said Provost Gene Bourgeois, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs. “We look forward to their continued success and many contributions.”

white headshot
Dr. Alexander White
hamilton headshot
Dr. Michelle Hamilton
martin headshot
Dr. Joey Martin

About Texas State University

Founded in 1899, Texas State University is among the largest universities in Texas with an enrollment of 38,694 students on campuses in San Marcos and Round Rock. Texas State’s 192,000-plus alumni are a powerful force in serving the economic workforce needs of Texas and throughout the world. 

For more information, contact University Communications:

Jayme Blaschke, 512-245-2555

Sandy Pantlik, 512-245-2922