Four honored during International Education Week event

Posted by Jayme Blaschke
University News Service
November 24, 2009

Four Texas State University-San Marcos faculty, staff and students were honored Nov. 19 during the “Recognizing Achievements in International Education” session held as a part of International Education Week (IEW) 2009.

The celebration of IEW 2009 at Texas State began in 2002 with the first presentation of awards for outstanding achievement in International Education. Since then awards have been presented each year during what is now “International Education Month” at Texas State. The awards are presented by Texas State members of NAFSA: Association of International Educators to one faculty member, one staff member, one U.S. student and one international student each year who have made significant accomplishments in international education.

The 2009 faculty recipient was Moonis Ali for his longstanding support for and interest in international students, serving as the faculty advisor of the Indian Student Association and his numerous international involvements. His international career began with a Fulbright post-doctoral fellowship at the University of Texas from 1974 to 1975. Since then he has had numerous publications through international conferences and journals. One of his most notable international involvements is serving as the editor-in-chief of the International Journal of Applied Intelligence from 1991 to the present.

The staff award was presented to Emilio Carranco, M.D., director of the Student Health Center for his accomplishments and involvements in a number of global issues including his development of a Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (SARS) response plan for Texas State; continuous quality improvement of the student health insurance plan used by many Texas State international students; assistance to the Office of Correspondence, Extension and Study Abroad Programs related to their crisis management plan; establishing health insurance and medical assistance policies for study abroad programs; and his current assistance addressing H1N1 pandemic flu issues.

Sasha Rangel, a U.S. student with a double major in sociology and Spanish, received the Isis de la O Gomez Student Award for Outstanding Achievement in International Education for her accomplishments during her semester abroad attending Universitas Castellae in Valladolid, Spain. She volunteered in a private elementary school. Her students benefited from her language lessons and also learned that Sasha, a vision impaired student using a guide dog named Glorianne, was not hindered from accomplishing her goals during her semester abroad. Rangel was also involved with the Spanish National Organization for the Blind (ONCE), where she communicated the message “Independence and success is just as possible for the blind community.”

Akinyi Wadende, an international doctoral student in the College of Education from Kenya, received the Robert M. Seese Award for Outstanding Achievement in International Education. She is a member of three student organizations and is currently the vice president of the International Student Organization. Since coming to Texas State in 2007, she has been awarded five fellowships and scholarships. While working as a research assistant in educational administration and psychological services under Duncan Waite and Sandria Stephenson she also served as assistant supervisor in research projects. Wadende has served on two editorial boards and has made numerous presentations at national and international conferences.

Nathan Pino, associate professor of sociology and 2009 Fulbright Scholar in Trinidad and Tobago, served as keynote speaker and presented “Teaching in Trinidad.”

Opening remarks were provided by Debbie Thorne, associate vice president for Academic Affairs. Beth Wuest, director, Academic Development and Assessment and Steve Wilson, professor, English and Fulbright representative recognized 15 Texas State faculty who have participated in the Fulbright Program. J-1 exchange visitors and their faculty advisors were recognized by Bob Seese, director of the International Office.

For further information, visit and