AITP chapter lands six awards at regional competition

By Brett Fails
University News Service
November 11, 2009

Texas State University-San Marcos Association of Information Technology Professionals won several awards at the chapter's regional competition, held Oct. 22-24 in Richardson.

The Texas State chapter returned home from the 2009 AITP regional student competition, held at the University of Texas at Dallas campus, with six awards and two finalists. Texas State AITP chapter faculty advisers, Randy Cook and Kevin Jetton, accompanied 19 students to Dallas where they competed in 26 events.

AITP is a national organization open to students and career professionals interested in information technology.

The competition results are as follows:

In the Application Development category, first place winners included: Doug Fogle, a senior Computer Information Systems (CSI)/ Management double major from Lockhart, Gene Ognibene, a senior CIS major from South Padre Island, Lisa Okafor, a senior from Sugar Land, and Autumn Pitts, senior CIS major from Aurora, Ill.

Database Design first place winners were Lisa Okafor and Eric Ortega, a senior CIS major from Edinburg. Others who received awards in this category included: Scott Hidalgo and Andrew Johnson, a senior CIS major from Corpus Chrisit, received third place awards. Tuan Nguyen and Joe Zarate received Honorable Mention.

In the Network Design category, Michael Gairo and James Thorne received Honorable Mention.

In the PC Troubleshooting category Andrew Johnson and James Thorne were finalists.