Women’s History Month luncheon celebrates Texas State women

Posted by Jayme Blaschke
University News Service
February 28, 2008

Women’s History Month at Texas State University-San Marcos will kick off with a Feb. 29 luncheon honoring outstanding Texas State women and alumnae.

The luncheon will be held from noon-1:30 p.m. in the LBJ Student Center Ballroom on campus. It is sponsored by the Center for Multicultural and Gender Studies.

This year, there will be a women’s exhibit on display from the Department of Art & Design, said Sandra Mayo, Women’s History Month committee chair. Also, luncheon attendees will have the opportunity to purchase table centerpieces with all proceeds going to support scholarships.

The keynote speaker this year is Katie G. Harvey, president and CEO of KGBTexas, a multi-million dollar public relations, marketing and advertising agency headquartered in San Antonio.

The 2008 Outstanding Women of Texas State to be honored are: Faculty, Roseann Mandziuk, Ph.D., professor, Department of Communication Studies; Staff, Jonnie Wilson, assistant director, Multicultural Student Affairs; Graduate student, Allana Welsh, biology; Undergraduate student, Brittney Leigh Patton, criminal justice/psychology. The 2008 Honored Alumnae are: Vanessa Victoria Valdez, B.S., criminal justice, 2006, College of Applied Arts; Christine R. Griffith, B.B.A., accounting, 1991, Emmett & Miriam McCoy College of Business Administration; Yolanda Almendarez, B.S., 1969, education, elementary certification, College of Education; Katie Harvey, B.S., journalism, 1991, College of Fine Arts and Communication; Shawn McCormick, A.S., respiratory thearpy, 1978, B.S., health professions, 1985, College of Health Professions; Diane Hirsch, B.A., political science, 1982, College of Liberal Arts; Tyra Montgomery, B.S., chemistry, 1981; M.S., chemistry, 1984, College of Science.

For additional information, contact Sandra Mayo at (512) 245-3824 or via email at sm37@txstate.edu.