Lone Star Sleuths converge on Alkek Library

Posted by Jayme Blaschke
University News Service
February 21, 2008

The Wittliff Collections at the Alkek Library, Texas State University-San Marcos, will host an afternoon celebrating Lone Star Sleuths, the new Texas crime fiction anthology in the Southwestern Writers Collection Book Series with the University of Texas Press on Saturday, Feb. 23, from 2-5 p.m.

Fifteen of the contributing mystery writers and the three editors—Bill Cunningham, Steven L. Davis, and Rollo K. Newsom—will talk with guests and sign books. Jesse Sublett and Kasey Lansdale will perform acoustic noir songs.

Scheduled authors include: Susan Wittig Albert, Neal Barrett, Jr., Paula Boyd, Susan Rogers Cooper, Bill Crider, A.W. Gray, Rolando Hinojosa, Joe R. Lansdale, David Lindsey, Ben Rehder, Rick Riordan, Jim Sanderson, Jesse Sublett, Doug J. Swanson, and Mary Willis Walker. Several of these authors have archives housed at the Southwestern Writers Collection, including Lansdale, Riordan, Sublett, and Wittig Albert, who co-edited the recent SWWC anthology What Wildness Is This.

Catered refreshments will be served, and the anthology, as well as books by all attending authors, will be for sale. This event is free and open to the public. Those attending are kindly asked to RSVP to southwesternwriters@txstate.edu or (512) 245-2313.

The Lone Star Sleuths table of contents and introduction by Bill Cunningham are available at the UT Press website: http://www.utexas.edu/utpress/excerpts/excunlop.html#ex1. A bibliography of Texas mystery fiction compiled by the editors is available at the Southwestern Writers Collection website: http://www.library.txstate.edu/swwc/exhibits/mystbib.html.

The Southwestern Writers Collection at The Wittliff Collections is located on the seventh floor of the Alkek Library, Texas State University-San Marcos. Directions are online: http://www.thewittliffcollections.txstate.edu.