Texas State's Baltzly awarded Lenssen Prize for best essay on teaching in field of philosophy

Featured Faculty

Jayme Blaschke | April 4, 2022

baltzly headshot

Vaughn Bryan Baltzly, assistant professor in the Department of Philosophy, has won the 2022 American Association of Philosophy Teachers' Lenssen Prize.

The Lenssen Prize recognizes the best essay on teaching and learning in the field of philosophy published in the previous two years. The award will be presented July 27-31 during the AAPT workshop-conference at Otterbein University in Otterbein, Ohio.

Baltzly was recognized for his article, "Trolleyology as First Philosophy: A Puzzle-Centered Approach to Introducing the Discipline," published in Teaching Philosophy 44:4, December 2021. Baltzly's paper was selected from approximately 80 papers published in 2020-2021 in international and national journals, as well as other sources in which scholarship of teaching and learning in philosophy is published.

The Lenssen Prize is awarded in memory of Mark Lenssen, a tireless worker for the AAPT until his untimely death in 1999. He served for many years as the co-editor of AAPT News, working to make writing about the teaching of philosophy better and more available.

For more information, contact University Communications:

Jayme Blaschke, 512-245-2555

Sandy Pantlik, 512-245-2922