TSUS names 2 Regents’ Teacher Award-winners at Texas State

Posted by Jayme Blaschke
Office of Media Relations
February 16, 2018

SAN MARCOS – The Texas State University System Board of Regents has named Texas State University faculty members Debra Feakes and David Nolan recipients of the Regents' Teacher Award.

Feakes and Nolan are the first two faculty members so recognized at Texas State. The board approved the honors during its quarterly meeting February 16 at Lamar University in Beaumont.

"I am very proud to join others in congratulating Debra Feakes and Dave Nolan for receiving the Regents' Teacher Award," said Gene Bourgeois, Texas State provost and vice president for academic affairs. "Each has proven again and again that they are committed to ensuring the success of Texas State students, through exemplary careers as model scholar-educators."

The Board of Regents annually recognizes exceptional teachers from TSUS member institutions with the Regents' Teacher Award. Regents' Teachers are selected based on their outstanding performance as educators, contributions to the development of courses and use of innovative teaching methods, among other criteria. In addition to a framed resolution and commemorative medallion, winners receive a $3,000 cash award and maintain the title of "Regents' Teacher" for the duration of their service within TSUS.

Debra Feakes
Debra Feakes

Feakes, a professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry since 1994, has served as the associate chair of the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry since 2012, and has served on the Women in Science (WISE) scholarship committee since 2009. She was formerly the faculty sponsor for the Alpha Chi National Honor Scholarship Society and the American Chemical Society Student Affiliates group. She was named a Piper Professor for 2016, Presidential Fellow for 2014-2015, distinguished member in the National Society of College Scholars (2014), Non-traditional Students Organization Professor of the Year (2012, 2005), Den Namesake (2009), Texas State University Nominee for the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education Professor of the Year Award (2007), Presidential Award for Excellence in Teaching (2006), Office of Disability Services Award (2002) and Friend of Student Learning Assistance Center Award (1999).

David Nolan
David Nolan

Nolan came to Texas State in 2003 and is an associate professor of practice and mass communication sequence coordinator in the School of Journalism and Mass Communication. He teaches undergraduate and graduate courses in visual communication, media design, photojournalism, visual storytelling and digital video production. He was awarded the National Press Photographers Association Robin F. Garland Educator Award for outstanding service as a photojournalism educator in 2015. Nolan has also received the Presidential Award for Excellence in Teaching at Texas State (2015), the Presidential Award for Excellence in Service at Texas State (2010) and Honors Professor of the Year (2008). He has hosted and been on the faculty of the National Press Photographers Association’s Advanced Storytelling Workshop at Texas State since 2009.

The Texas State University System Board of Regents is the governing body for Texas’ oldest university system, which comprises eight institutions: Lamar University; Sam Houston State University; Texas State University; Sul Ross State University; Sul Ross State University Rio Grande College; Lamar Institute of Technology; Lamar State College-Orange; and Lamar State College-Port Arthur.

About Texas State University

Founded in 1899, Texas State University is among the largest universities in Texas with an enrollment of 38,694 students on campuses in San Marcos and Round Rock. Texas State’s 181,000-plus alumni are a powerful force in serving the economic workforce needs of Texas and throughout the world. Designated an Emerging Research University by the State of Texas, Texas State is classified under “Doctoral Universities: Higher Research Activity,” the second-highest designation for research institutions under the Carnegie classification system.