Texas State faculty, staff honored during Fall 2016 Convocation

Posted by Jayme Blaschke
Office of Media Relations
August 26, 2016

Texas State University President Denise Trauth presented more than two dozen faculty and staff awards during the Fall 2016 Convocation.

This year’s recipients of the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Teaching are Russell Lang, associate professor of special education, Barry Aidman, assistant professor of educational and community leadership and Kaitlin Hopkins, senior lecturer of theatre.

The two recipients of this year’s Presidential Awards for Excellence in Scholarly and Creative Activities are Alexander Kornienko, associate professor of biochemistry and organic chemistry; and Melissa Martinez, assistant professor of educational and community leadership and school improvement.

The Presidential Award for Excellence in Service went to Lyn Litchke, associate professor of therapeutic recreation, and Daris Word Hale, senior lecturer of music, specializing in bassoon and fine arts instruction.

This year’s recipient of the 2015-16 Presidential Seminar Award was Sean Horan, assistant professor of communication studies.

The Alumni Association recognized Rodney Rohde, professor of clinical laboratory science, as the recipient of the Teaching Award of Honor.

The Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation selected Debra Feakes, professor of inorganic chemistry and chemical education, as Texas State’s 22nd Piper Professor.

The Faculty Senate recognized Feakes; Susan Morey, professor of mathematics; and Shirley Ogletree, professor of psychology, as the recipients of the Everette Swinney Faculty Senate Teaching Award.

Donald Olson, University Distinguished Professor and professor of psychics, was named 2015 Regents’ Professor by the Texas State University System Board of Regents, only the 23rd in the system so honored.

This year’s new University Distinguished Professors include Dennis Dunn, professor of history; and Dittmar Hahn, professor of biology.

The three retired faculty members who were named Distinguished Professors Emeriti were Robert Larsen, Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Geography; Glenn Longley, Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Biology; and Miles Wilson, Distinguished Professor Emeritus of English.

This year’s recipients of the Excellence in Diversity Award were Brandon Luciani Beck, lecturer of elementary education; Gloria Martinez, associate professor of sociology; and Clint-Michael Reneau, director in the Office of Disability Services.

This year’s team award went to Jon Lasser, professor of school psychology; Cynthia Plotts, professor of school psychology, Maria De Jesus Sanchez, grant senior secretary, and Desiree Vega, assistant professor of school psychology for their work with Project SUPERB in the Department of Counseling, Leadership, Adult Education and School Psychology.

The award for 2015 Employee of the Year went to Melissa Hyatt, associate university registrar in the Office of the University Registrar.

Winners of this year’s Mariel Muir Mentoring Award were Patti Giuffre, professor of sociology, and Skyller Walkes, associate director in the Office of Disability Services.

The full text of President Trauth's convocation speech may be found at www.president.txstate.edu/about-president-trauth/select-presentations/fall-convocation-2016.