National Science Foundation funds Texas State H-LSAMP program

Posted by Jayme Blaschke
University News Service
August 20, 2014

The National Science Foundation has awarded phase IV funding to the Houston-Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation Program (H-LSAMP) for 2014-2019.

Texas State University is one of the founding institutions in this alliance, which is one of the longest running H-LSAMP programs in the nation. Now in its fourth cycle of five-year grants, Texas State’s H-LSAMP program will receive more than $600,000 over the next five years.

During phase IV, Stephen Seidman, dean of the College of Science and Engineering at Texas State, will serve as alliance co-director. Texas Southern University will serve as lead institution for the alliance, with Texas Southern's Bobby Wilson the project’s co-principal investigator. Susan Romanella, from the College of Science and Engineering at Texas State, serves as program director for Texas State’s H-LSAMP program.

Texas State’s H-LSAMP program has achieved national visibility for its important work and success in academic and career enrichment for undergraduate STEM majors. Since 1999, NSF has provided more than $1 million in direct participant support for Texas State’s H-LSAMP students. The Ingram family also recognized the program’s success by creating an H-LSAMP scholarship endowment for Texas State engineering students.

Over the past 15 years, Texas State’s H-LSAMP has supported 206 students, with  80 percent graduating with B.S. degrees to date and 40 percent graduating with honors. There are 29 students currently in the program. Program graduates are working in top companies such as Boeing, National Instruments, Intel, General Motors and Cummins, among others.

Graduates have also continued their STEM education in graduate and professional schools such as the University of California-Davis, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Baylor College of Medicine, Vanderbilt University, the University of Texas and Texas State, among others. One of the program’s recent graduates, Christopher Reyes, has received a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship and is headed to the Chemistry Ph.D. program at Duke University this fall.

The H-LSAMP alliance includes Texas Southern University, Texas State University, the University of Houston, Houston Community College, and San Jacinto Community College. Its primary goals are to increase the number of traditionally underrepresented and minority students earning baccalaureate degrees in STEM, advance the quality and diversity of the STEM workforce and prepare students for graduate study and professional STEM careers.

For more information about the Texas State H-LSAMP Scholars Program, visit