Communication Studies faculty honored at 2014 SSCA Convention

Posted by Jayme Blaschke
University News Service
April 8, 2014

Three members of the Texas State University Department of Communication Studies faculty were honored during the 84th annual Southern States Communication Association Convention held April 3-6 in New Orleans.

Roseann Mandziuk received the Michael M. Osborn Teacher-Scholar Award--particularly meaningful as the award's namesake has longstanding ties with Texas State and was a featured speaker during the department's 100 Year Convocation in fall 2012. Mandziuk also assumed her responsibilities as the newly elected 2nd vice president of SSCA which will evolve into serving as president of SSCA.

Rebekah Fox received the Janice Hocker Rushing Early Career Research Award. As with the Osborn award, this award holds person significance as the award's namesake served as a professor and mention to Fox.

Fox and Ann Burnette received the James Madison Prize for Outstanding Research in First Amendment Studies for their article, "Reframing Corporations as Individuals: The 'Persuasive Marvels' Unleashed by the Citizens United Ruling," which was published in First Amendment Studies.

The purpose of the SSCA is to promote the study, criticism, research, teaching and application of the artistic, humanistic and scientific principles of communication. SSCA, a not-for-profit organization, exists for educational, scientific and literary purposes only. For more information, visit