Curriculum and Instruction's Taylor Acee presents Presidential Seminar

Posted by Jayme Blaschke
University News Service
April 9, 2014

Taylor Acee

Taylor Acee

Taylor Acee, an assistant professor in the Department of Curriculum and Instruction at Texas State University, will be honored by President Denise M. Trauth at the 45th Presidential Seminar 6:30 p.m. Wednesday, April 23 in the Alkek Teaching Theatre.

The Presidential Seminar represents the highest honor the university bestows upon faculty for scholarly and creative activity.

A short reception will be held at 6 p.m., prior to lecture. The Presidential Seminar is free and open to the public. Seating is limited.

In his presentation, entitled “College Student Motivation: Emerging Research and Ideas for Practice,” Acee will review a series of experimental and correlational studies he conducted on student motivation in undergraduate courses. Highlighting results from confirmatory factor analysis, linear and logistic regression and analysis of variance, Acee will emphasize the roles students’ values, beliefs, goals and emotions play in learning and academic achievement. He will also discuss programs, interventions and learning strategies for helping students to generate motivation and become more strategic and self-regulated learners.

Acee, who works in the graduate program in developmental education, earned his Ph.D. and M.A. in educational psychology at the University of Texas and his B.S. in psychology at the University of Pittsburgh. Acee teaches doctoral- and masters-level courses on student motivation, developmental education and quantitative methods in education research. His program of research focuses on cognitive, metacognitive, motivational and affective factors that contribute to or detract from student success in postsecondary education.

The Presidential Seminar was established in 1978 to provide a means to highlight and recognize superlative research, creative work, or other scholarly efforts undertaken by Texas State faculty members. The Presidential Seminar honoree is selected by the Presidential Excellence Award for Scholarly/Creative Activities Committee plus the three last recipients of the Presidential Seminar. Previous Presidential Seminar honorees are Arnold Leder, 1978; Harvey J. Ginsburg, 1978; Patrick Cassidy, 1979; Alexander Kritselis, 1979; Ronald C. Brown, 1980; William F. Brown, 1980; David J. Pino, 1981; James D. Irvin, 1981; William D. Liddle, 1981; Arch R. Mallard, 1982; Russell C. Riepe, 1982; Joan C. Hays, 1983; Sheila Fling, 1983; Max L. Warshauer, 1984; Patricia M. Shields, 1984; Kenneth Margerison, 1985; Sharon Keefe Ugalde, 1985; James Benjamin, 1986; John T. Baccus, 1986; Robert F. Gorman, 1987; Lon R. Shell, 1988; Joseph R. Koke, 1989; Miles S.Wilson, Jr., 1990; James E. Sherow, 1991; Paul A. Kens, 1992; Paul A. Kennedy, 1993; Nancy Feyl Chavkin, 1993; Ronald B. Walter, 1994; Richard G. Boehm, 1995; Donald W. Olson, 1996; Clifford J. Ronan, 1997; Joseph K. Yick, 1998; Garland R. Upchurch, Jr., 1999; Oren Renick, 2000; Kathleen Peirce, 2001; Paul W. Barnes, 2002; John M. Blair, 2003; Joycelyn M. Pollock, 2004; Robert J.C. McLean, 2005; David R. Butler, 2006; Beverly Penn, 2009; James McWilliams, 2010; James LeSage, 2011; Gary Beall, 2012; and Randall Reid, 2013.