Former Bobcat Paul Goldschmidt receives Hank Aaron Award

By Daniel Palomo III
University News Service
October 29, 2013

Paul Goldschmidt

Paul Goldschmidt

Paul Goldschmidt, former Texas State baseball player, now playing for the Arizona Diamondbacks, received the 2013 Hank Aaron Award for his selection as the top offensive performer in the National League.

Given annually, the Hank Aaron award is determined by a vote consisting of media, fans and Hank Aaron himself. Miguel Cabrera was the selection for the American League. Past winners include Alex Rodriguez (2001-2003), Derek Jeter (2006) and David Ortiz (2005).

Goldschmidt played for Texas State from 2007-2009 and holds school records for home runs (36), doubles (45), walks (110) and RBI (369). He was also named to the Dean’s List every semester and was awarded the Southland Conference scholar-athlete of the year in 2008. He grew up in the Houston area, The Woodlands, and was twice named the Southland Conference Player of the Year.