Texas State artists win five Austin Critics Table Awards

Posted by Jayme Blaschke
University News Service
June 8, 2011

Texas State University-San Marcos faculty, staff and guest artists have been honored with five Austin Critics Table Awards out of 13 nominations.

The awards, presented by art critics from the Austin American-Statesman and the Austin Chronicle, recognize achievements in dance, classical music, the visual arts and theater. In its 16th year, the 2011 Austin Critics Table awards shine a spotlight on events taking place between May 1, 2010 and April 30, 2011. Texas State winners are:

  • Kaitlin Hopkins, the head of the Musical Theatre Program, received the award for directing the Texas State productions All Shook Up, a 2010 musical featuring the work of Elvis Presley, and 2011’s The Wild Party, which was written by Texas State composer-in-residence Andrew Lippa.
  • Robin Lewis, head of the musical theatre dance program, received the movement award for his choreography in two Texas State productions, All Shook Up and The Wild Party, as well as The Drowsy Chaperone and Rent at the Zach Theatre in Austin.
  • Lauren Lane, an assistant professor in the Department of Theatre and Dance, won the award for acting in a leading role for two performances. She was in August: Osage County and Becky’s New Car, both at the Zach Theatre.
  • Andy Campbell and Mary Mikel Stump won in the group gallery exhibition category for their curation of SUBstainability. He is a lecturer and she is the art gallery coordinator in the School of Art and Design.
  • Susan Branch Towne, a guest artist with the Texas State Department of Theatre and Dance, was awarded for her costume designs for the Texas State production All Shook Up, as well as The Drowsy Chaperone at the Zach Theatre.