Regents approve Honors College for Texas State

Posted by University News Service

Aug. 22, 2011

 Texas State University-San Marcos will establish an Honors College, marking another step in the evolution of the school’s successful Honors Program.

Creation of the new college was authorized by the Texas State University System Board of Regents, which met Thursday and Friday, Aug. 18 and 19, on the campus of Sul Ross State University in Alpine.

Currently administered by Texas State’s University College, the Honors Program will become an independent college directed by a dean who reports directly to the university provost. It will be structured to provide coursework with a rigorous level of academic challenge and higher academic expectations across a wide range of disciplines.

“Establishing an Honors College at Texas State reflects the current growth of the University Honors Program in size and depth of curriculum,” said Texas State Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs Eugene Bourgeois. “The increased visibility of an Honors College will attract more high-ability students who will excel as leaders in private industry, non-profits, government and entrepreneurial enterprises.”

Bourgeois said that attracting students who can succeed in honors coursework requires substantial scholarship support. Raising funds for scholarships will be a key component of the university’s upcoming Pride in Action capital campaign, he said.

“Two pillars of that campaign are Academic Excellence and the Family Campaign (supported by Texas State faculty and staff), which are going to target donations in support of scholarships for high-ability students,” he said.

From its inception in 1966, Texas State’s University Honors Program has been a key part of Texas State’s mission to provide an exceptional undergraduate education. The program offers undergraduate research opportunities to academically capable students and an enriched academic community in which they can thrive.

The University Honors Program at Texas State provides small, stimulating classes taught by master teacher scholars. Honors graduates achieve acceptance into highly competitive national and international graduate and professional programs.

The Texas State University System is governed by a nine member Board of Regents appointed by the Governor. In addition, a nonvoting student regent is appointed annually to the Board. The Texas State University System is the oldest multi-campus system in Texas and plays a critical role in the educational and economic development of the state. Its eight component institutions are Texas State University-San Marcos, Lamar University, Sam Houston State University, Sul Ross State University, Sul Ross State University Rio Grande College, Lamar Institute of Technology, Lamar State College-Orange and Lamar State College-Port Arthur.