Faculty awarded Development Leave grants by university

Posted by Jayme Blaschke
University News Service
May 29, 2008

Five Texas State University-San Marcos faculty members have received $20,000 grants under the university’s new Faculty Development Program.

Faculty awarded the grant for 2008-2009 academic year are C. Britt Bousman, Department of Anthropology; Caitlin Gabor, Department of Biology; Wilhelmus Geerts, Department of Physics; Yongmei Lu, Department of Geography; and Anne Ngu, Department of Computer Science.

The Professional Development Leave grants are designed to support and encourage faculty members’ research pursuits. The award funds can be used for a range of out-of-pocket expenses that a faculty member incurs while doing research, including travel and lodging costs associated with research and equipment or materials purchases. The grant may also serve as a salary supplement for those who select both the fall and spring semesters for a Faculty Development Leave.

All faculty applications are reviewed by a committee after having been approved by the president for Faculty Development Leave consideration.  The committee then forwards five recommendations to the provost, who makes the final decisions.

Texas State faculty members interested in applying for the grant must complete the regular application for Faculty Development Leave and attach an explanation (no more than one page) explaining how the award is to be spent.  All funds must be expended within six months of the conclusion of the faculty development leave.

For more information, contact Gene Bourgeois, associate provost of academic affairs, at eb04@txstate.edu or by phone at 245-2257.