Texas State Advertising Team places third at national competition

Date released: 06/17/04

SAN MARCOS - The Texas State University-San Marcos American Advertising Federation (AAF) team finished third overall at the AAF 2004 National Student Advertising Competition held in Dallas June 13-14.

The AAF team received $2,000 for the third-place finish, behind first place Southern Methodist University and second place University of Virginia, with the Art Center Design College of Tucson finishing fourth. The Texas State team was one of 16 teams from 15 districts competing at the national competition, earning the berth after finishing second place at the District 10 AAF National Student Advertising Competition held in Oklahoma City in April and earning a wild card bid to nationals.

The AAF team at Texas State is jointly supported by the College of Fine Arts and Mass Communication and the McCoy College of Business Administration. It involves a wide range of students studying advertising, marketing, public relations and communication design. The AAF team was advised by Jody Gibson, Department of Mass Communication, and Mary Ann Stutts, Department of Marketing.

"This competition is great for the students because it creates opportunities that wouldn't exist otherwise," Stutts said. "The major advertising agencies are represented, and many of our students will get job interviews with them as a result of this conference."

The competition was judged on a hypothetical ad campaign for "Visit Florida," including a 20-minute presentation and a 32-page campaign book outlining strategy, market research and promotional activities. Next year?s campaign subject will be Yahoo.com.

"The team receives tremendous support from the university at all levels and has had tremendous support from the two local ad clubs in San Antonio and Austin," Stutts said. "Other universities around the country have told us they're envious of our support."

The AAF team has advanced to nationals nine out the last 15 years and has placed in the top six at nationals all nine times, winning first place in 1990; second place in 2001; third place in 1993, 1999 and 2003; fourth place in 1997; fifth in 2000; and sixth in 1992.