Annual School Safety Summit set

Date released: 02/23/04

SAN MARCOS – The conference, sponsored by the Texas School Safety Center, is an annual event providing information and guidance to educators, community leaders, law enforcement officers, parents, and students throughout Texas for the safety and well being of our children. The Center is located in the Center for Initiatives in Education, College of Education at Texas State University-San Marcos and funded by the Office of the Governor, Criminal Justice Division.

Two nationally known school safety advocates will address the conference:

  • Darrell Scott, father of Columbine HS victim Rachel Scott and President of “Rachel’s Challenge,” a national campaign helping administrators, teachers, and students create safer and more productive places to learn and achieve.
  • Steven Edwards, Vice President of the National Crime Prevention Council, nationally recognized for his innovative approach to education.

Additionally, Edwards will assist the TxSSC in the state-wide roll out of the “Be Safe and Sound” campaign. The initiative, complete with the “School Safety and Security Toolkit” CD, is to raise awareness of school safety and security issues and provide concrete measures individuals and organizations can take to ensure safe and secure schools.

2004 School Safety Awards will be presented to Texas public schools that have demonstrated outstanding programs, improvements, processes, or planning for safe campuses. Schools to be honored are:

High School
1) Lewisville High; 2) Stockdale High; 3) Mexia High

Middle/Junior High School
1) Pflugerville Middle; 2) Memorial Middle, Houston; 3) Westover Park Junior High, Amarillo

Elementary/Intermediate School
1) East Side Intermediate, Palacios; 2) Emile Elementary, Bastrop

PK-12 School
1) GOALS /DAEP Program, Cuero; 3) Cato Elementary, River Oaks

Six middle school students will also be honored for their 2004 Safe Schools essays. The students were chosen from more than 1000 entries from across the state.

6th Grade
1) Deirdre Benavides, Williams Elementary, Arlington; 2) Averie Pearcy, Ira Junior High, Ira; 3) Brittany Beasley, Teague Intermediate, Teague

7/8th Grade
1) Brent Walden, Bailey Middle, Austin; 2) Melissa Ruiz, Refugio Middle, Refugio; 3) Loren Luckie, Cole Junior/Senior High, San Antonio