Regents approve new SWT degree programs

Date of release: 05/25/00

SAN MARCOS, TEXAS — Southwest Texas State University has received authorization for two new master’s degree programs from its Board of Regents.

Meeting Friday, May 20, in San Angelo on the campus of Angelo State University, the Texas State University System Board of Regents authorized new master’s programs in geography and international studies for SWT. The regents approved a proposal for a master of science degree with a major in geography to complement the master of applied geography degree currently offered by the university. The new degree program will be more theoretical in nature and will be oriented toward prospective doctoral students.

The master of arts program in international studies approved by the regents is designed to prepare leaders with excellent oral and written communication skills, familiarity with the world’s major regional cultures, and technical skills in manufacturing, computer information systems and international communication.

Both programs must be approved by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board before courses will be offered.

The board also approved an emphasis in educational technology under the existing programs in elementary and secondary education. The program will assist area teachers trying to incorporate the latest technology into their instruction and help their students learn to use technology.

In other SWT-related action, the board:

  • Awarded a construction contract for $5.4 million to Young and Pratt of Austin for the third and final phase of a utility expansion project. The board also accepted as substantially complete the second phase of the project.
  • Appointed to the SWT Development Foundation Board of Trustees Ramiro “Ram” Guzman of El Paso, Carla J. Graham of Austin, Kenneth Hardcastle of Seguin, Nancy F. May of San Antonio and Alan Wiley of Round Rock.
  • Approved a three-year special employment contract with head men’s basketball coach Dennis Nutt.
  • Implemented course fees and increased the student center fee by $10 for a long semester and $5 for a summer session. The student center fee increase was approved by students in a referendum held in February.
  • Authorized the university to employ Amtech Roof Consultants of Austin to develop plans and specifications for roof repairs to the Freeman Aquatic Biology Building and the Alkek Library.
  • Approved preliminary plans for the renovation of the Academic Services Building-South prepared by Kell-Munoz-Wigodsky of San Antonio, and authorized the architects to prepare final plans and advertise for bids.
  • Approved preliminary plans for renovation of the University Service Center prepared by Croslin and Associates of Austin and authorized the architects to prepare final plans and specifications and advertise for bids.
  • Awarded a job order contract not to exceed $1 million to PI Contracting Corp. of Austin for property maintenance. o Acknowledged gifts to the university of $10,000 or more.
    • The SWT Development Foundation received $57,775 from the estate of Ruby A. Nelson for the Wilma Nelson Copeland Scholarship endowment.
    • Dr. and Mrs. Robert E. Anderson donated $25,000 to the Anderson Physics Endowment.
    • The Summerlee Foundation gave $22,000 in support of the El Camino Real 2000 Project.
    • Texas Monthly gave gift-in-kind items valued at approximately $20,000 to the Southwestern Writers Collection.
    • Thomas Almond gave a Steinway M grand piano valued at $20,000 to the Music Department.
    • Jack Williams Jr. gave 100 shares of General Electric stock to the SWT Development Foundation. From the sale of the stock, $14,425 was added to the San Marcos High School Legacy Scholarship endowment.
    • The university received $12,446 from the San Marcos Breakfast Lions Club for their endowed scholarship.
    • Gift-in-kind weekend golf packages valued at $11,904 were given by Horseshoe Bay Country Club. The packages are auction items for fund-raising events.
    • Eloise G. Marshall donated $10,500 to establish the Sam W. Marshall Memorial Scholarship.
    • The A.H. Belo Corp. Foundation donated $10,000 to the Mass Communication Broadcast Program.
    • The Azadoutioun Foundation donated $10,000 to the Southwestern Writers Collection.
    • Dr. and Mrs. Darrell Piersol donated $10,000 for the John and Mona Piersol Band Scholarship.
    • The John E. Fetzer Institute contributed $10,000 in support of a cancer research project conducted by SWT President Jerome Supple.
    • The Texas Instruments Foundation donated $10,000 as a matching gift for Bob and Susan Shrader for a scholarship in the Department of Mass Communication.
  • Authorized the university to issue an emergency request for proposals for shuttle bus service beginning August 2000 if contraction negotiations with the current bus contractor fail.
  • Approved an amendment to the vending service agreement with ABA Vending. o Extended the electronic identification system agreement with Diebold Inc. for one year.
  • Deleted the master of arts in teaching for degree programs in French and German. o Accepted the semiannual operations report on Aquarena Center properties.
  • Authorized the university to offer out-of-country study programs in Mexico during summer 2000.
  • Approved routine budget amendments and personnel actions.

The Texas State University System includes Angelo State University in San Angelo, Lamar University-Beaumont, Lamar University Institute of Technology in Beaumont, Lamar University-Orange, Lamar University-Port Arthur, Sam Houston State University in Huntsville, SWT, Sul Ross State University in Alpine and Sul Ross State University Rio Grande College in Uvalde.

Members of the nine-member board are Floyd Nickerson of Plano, chair; Nancy R. Neal of Lubbock, vice chair; Patricia Diaz Dennis of San Antonio; Dionicio “Don” Flores of El Paso; John P. Hageman of Austin; Daniel S. Hallmark of Beaumont; James A. “Jimmy” Hayley of Texas City; Pollyanna A. Stephens of San Angelo; and Macedonio “Massey” Villarreal of Missouri City. Chancellor Lamar Urbanovsky manages the system’s office in Austin.